INTO Delegation in Copenhagen for Climate Talks

Posted on: December 8th, 2009 by David J. Brown

In September, the members of the International National Trusts Organisation (INTO)—including the National Trust for Historic Preservation—adopted the Dublin Declaration on Climate Change at the 13th International Conference of National Trusts hosted by An Taisce, the National Trust for Ireland. My colleagues Emily Wadhams, Patrice Frey, and Anthony Veerkamp were members of the international working group for INTO that drafted the declaration, and both President Richard Moe and I signed the declaration on behalf of the National Trust in the U.S.

Now that document is being shared with the delegates assembled for the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP 15). The world’s National Trusts and similar heritage organizations are represented in Copenhagen through a delegation headed up by INTO President Simon R. Molesworth of Australia. The INTO delegation is blogging about the experience on the INTO website ( Check back daily for updates from the INTO delegation and visit the INTO website to see how our work on sustainability fits within the global heritage conservation community’s work on combating climate change.

David J. Brown is the Executive Vice President of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The National Trust for Historic Preservation works to save America's historic places. Join us today to help protect the places that matter to you.